What do the 4 Cs really mean to you and your fiancée? Before you buy a diamond engagement ring, it is important to understand their value and these four qualities that comprise a diamond’s value.

The value of a diamond can be measured by examining the 4 Cs:

  • Carat
  • Clarity
  • Colour
  • Cut

Why the 4 Cs Matter

The system of grading diamonds is popular amongst diamond buyers and jewellers, but the 4Cs should be important to you, too. Thanks to this system, it is easier than ever before for people to see the differences between different diamonds.

What Exactly is a Diamond’s Grade?

Each of the 4Cs determines the grade of a diamond, so they are each compared in quality and their value is then shown as a grade.

Each C-trait is afforded an individual grade. One each individual grade is assigned, you can put them together to arrive at an average grade. You can then determine the price of the diamond compared to other similar diamonds.

The 4Cs is useful to you as a shopper since the more you understand about the grade of a diamond, the smarter you can be when choosing an engagement ring. Visit Ringleaders.com.au to find out more.

More About the Grading Scale

When you begin shopping for a diamond engagement ring, you need to know how to read the scale. Usually, the grade is shown via a string of numbers and letters, such as 1ct E VS.

1. The Carat

Carats measure the weight of a diamond. Diamonds are measured in points and 100 points is equal to 1 carat. If you want to save money on a diamond, look for gems that are 10 or 15 points less than the stone you like.

2. The Colour

White is right – that’s the rule of thumb since diamonds come from the earth and there can be a variety of colours between them. White diamonds are valued higher, with the D grade at the top of the scale considered colourless, the most expensive, and the rarest. As you work down the 23-grade scale from D – Z, the diamonds become more brown and yellow. Most diamonds sold today are “near colourless” and fall between G and J.

3. The Clarity

The clarity grade reflects a diamond’s natural characteristics. Diamond are natural and perfection is rarely found. The flaws are called blemishes or inclusions. The clarity scale ranges from flawless all the way to heavily flawed. It can be hard for the naked eye to notice inclusions so it is important to inspect a diamond engagement ring carefully before purchasing it.

4. The Cut

The cut of a diamond can either make it shine brighter or duller. This can help you to prioritize some Cs over others to find a stone within your budget.

A diamond, at the end of the day, is a prism of light. Diamond companies tend to cut the stones so that the prism garners maximum beauty, and that means cutting the diamond to let the most light possible shine through.


By understanding the 4Cs, you can budget accordingly and know what to look for in a diamond engagement ring.


Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Google+
0Pin on Pinterest
0Email this to someone

Like what you read? Share the love.